12 Things You Should Declutter Right Now

Happy New Year! Whether you plan on making some big changes in 2021, or like the way you’re doing things either way I’m sure your home may still be in need of some decluttering. Let’s face it, we spent way more time home in 2020 then we were probably planning too, and decluttering may have been one of the last things on our mind. But I always like to do it before the New Year so I’m not bringing baggage, literally, into the New Year.

One of the most beneficial things that I did in 2020 to make my life easier was declutter and then organize our home-shoutout to my mom for ALL the help- . In 2021 one of my goals is to keep our home organized and clutter free. Minimal and simple living.

I’m not saying you go full OCD Home Edit like I did, but you organize these little things to get started and start the new year.

1. Purse: I will admit I don’t carry a purse as much these days. Mainly because we don’t go any where but also because I have a newborn so I always have a diaper bag.

But I think we all can admit our purses quickly turn into a catch all for receipts, hair ties and whatever else. When I do carry a purse now days it’s typically a smaller one. So I decided to take a few minutes and get it organized.

2. Nightstand: Once we brought Korbin home my nightstand became a baby station. Since she’s 12 weeks now I decided I can take back my night stand. One decor piece, my phone charger, a book and my iPad. Keep it simple

3. Car: I can’t take credit for keeping my car clean. My husband typically washes it and cleans it weekly. Maybe a little less right now because I usually only travel to work and back.

4. Bathroom Counter: I’ve never been the one to keep a lot of items on the bathroom counter. The bathroom is usually my first stop when I wake up and last stop before bed. Keep your bathroom counter neat and organized for a better start and end to your day.

5. Entry Way basket or drawer: In some form or fashion we all have one of these junk drawers. I use to have a junk drawer and and “junk basket.” Again, I really tried to get organized before Korbin was born so I don’t really have a junk drawer any more. It’s pretty organized with dividers and less stuff now. But it’s still located right where we walk in, and can serve as a catch call if need be.

6. Coat closet: I recently just did this one, with the help of my mom. We got rid of coats we didn’t need and did a complete clean out so that the space was actually functioning as a coat closet.

7. Makeup vanity: My makeup vanity doesn’t get as much love as it use to (thanks masks & stay at home orders). And It’s such a small space and really the only space that is just mine. Literally takes 10 minutes to go through it and get rid of old things you aren’t using or maybe even have expired.

8. Pantry: Our pantry isn’t huge so we things don’t get lost in it to often. But we do end up with a lot of things we don’t use. Because either we bought a specific ingredient for one meal and don’t need it, or someone brought it over and we don’t use or like it. I’ll be the first to admit it’s really hard for me to throw away food, but I’ve decided to stop letting things I don’t want take over .

Tyler and I discovered a food drop-off up the street from our home, so if we have unopened non perishable items we can take them there now! It’s a local church so check out your area and see if you have one nearby, such a good resource. I even put some formula in there because I figured someone would & could use it.

9. Refrigerator: This one is way easier and I don’t have much to say about it. Throw it away sis, and try not to buy as much next time so you don’t waste money.

10. Linen Closet: My mom have me this tip.. instead of purchasing all my towels at once, just do two at a time (or whatever number) every time you get paid. We’ve had our towels for a couple of years and they were looking tired and dingy. To the point where I was embarrassed to let people use them. I’m not sure how long towels are “good” for, but I knew it was time to give them up. So I took her advice and purchased 2 every once in awhile, again thanks covid, and now I think I only have 2 more to change out. Same thing goes for wash cloths, blankets and sheets. Think quantity over quality, another thing I’ll be concentrating on this year.

And don’t forget the lotions, medicines and sunscreens. If it’s expired, you don’t like it or don’t find yourself using it, LET IT GO!

11. Sock & Underwear Drawer: You’re not going to find the match, throw it away. And I’m just going to say it, if your underwear are looking dingy or has holes, obviously toss it!

12. Unused glassware: I am not sure at what point Tyler and I became so big on glassware. There are only two of us, and we have a lot! I’ve sorted and gone through it multiple times and we will have a lot. I’ve come to the conclusion that’s it’s just our thing. We like glasses, and that’s fine.

Minimalist and simple living is going to look different for everyone. I joke that I want a huge empty house. A lot of space and nothing in it. I would never be about that tiny living.

As you go through your things truly consider if you like it, and then if it serves a purpose. If neither of those things are true, sell or donate it.

This year when we went through our things we didn’t get rid of a lot. That tells me we were intentional about our purchases and like the things we have.

Tell me, what are you staring with first?

xo

2 thoughts on “12 Things You Should Declutter Right Now

Leave a comment