How We Completely Renovated Our First Home, then flipped it

In April 2016 we bought our first (town) home. At the time we weren’t married, I was only working 20-hours a week and we had a modest budget. But we were paying almost $1200 in rent for our loft. And prior to that we lived in a 500 sq ft studio for $1000 a month. We were use to living in small spaces, so we were excited to have more than one bathroom, a bedroom door that closed and most importantly to start saving money!

When we were parents of 1

I think it is important to be transparent about our house buying process, so I am going to try my best.

We purchased our townhouse for $60,000. It was a 900 sq ft home with 2 bedrooms and 1.5 bathrooms. It was listed significantly below our budget so we went in full asking price. It was the 4th house we put an offer in, and we didn’t want to miss another one. Our lease was up and we were fortunate enough to have friends let us stay with them for 3 weeks while everything was finalized. So there was no grace period moving in, we moved in the same day we closed and our families came up to help us get started on the house.

You will see from the photos below that there was a lot to be done in the house. But the location was perfect (at the time), and that was a huge factor for us. It was a quick uber ride uptown and we had access to the light rail right across the street .

The main question I get from people looking to purchase a home is what is the most important thing, and for us it was location and layout. Two things you can’t do a whole lot to change so you have to be okay with them. We knew when we purchased our home we only wanted to be in it for 2-3 years. It allowed us to save money for our wedding and make a profit when we sold it 3 years later. We knew we wanted a home with a little more space with room for our family to visit. When we purchased our first home we didn’t look at school districts, proximity to parks or anything like that. It wasn’t important at the time.

We were very fortunate to have help getting our house together. Tyler and I did not have a clue what we were doing. We (I) knew how we wanted everything to look, but did not know exactly how to accomplish it. Between Pinterest, visits from my parents, and many FaceTime calls and texts with my mom everything turned about great.

We painted the whole house a light gray color, and dark accent walls in some rooms. Honestly, we bought the cheapest paint I don’t even know the brand. But it was about $80 for a 5 gallon bucket, and then I grabbed a gallon of dark gray paint from the clearance rack at Lowes.

The house was carpeted, but old dirty carpet. We decided that we didn’t want carpet wherever we moved because we have dogs. So putting down flooring was the best option. We went with a grayish laminate flooring because we knew the rest of the house would be gray. I don’t remember the exact cost but my husband remembers it was about $50 a box. We put it down in the entire house including the restrooms and kitchen. My dad was a huge help to Tyler and showed him how to do it in the living room. Then later Tyler was able to do it in the rest of the house.

One of the the easiest projects, that I was able to do all by myself, was the stairs. The stairs were carpeted and I had no hesitation ripping it all off. Luckily the stairs were wood underneath so I just removed all the carpet, nails and then stained the stairs and repainted all the white.

I also eventually ended up removing one of the banisters, it wasn’t necessary for us to have both. Over time the stairs did get a little worn, but I actually liked the way that it looked and never re did them.

Possibly one of the hardest projects, but my favorite room in the house was the kitchen. Tyler worked HARD on getting the kitchen together. At one point we didn’t have a kitchen for a week and didn’t have water for 2 days. He had to turn it off to get everything connected, and we used the shower at the gym (strugggglllle).

The original plan was to repaint the cabinets white and just change the handles. But after further inspection we noticed mold under the sink. My parents gifted us new lower cabinets so that we didn’t have to worry about the mold issue. We ripped the old cabinets out and cleaned where they were and left it open to air out for a few days. The new cabinets, a new sink and new faucet were installed. We also got a new stove, dishwasher, fridge and range.

We went with open shelving on top since the space was so small I thought it would open it up.

Okay the countertops were tricky, I say that but I didn’t do anything but pick out what I wanted. I really wanted concrete countertops but we decided to go with concrete looking tile. This was something else that Tyler had no experience with but my dad brought his saw and showed him the ropes. These were done almost 8 months after we moved in and I remember both of them outside working all day and it was kinda cold. But they looked soo good when they were done. They were a dark gray, with a dark gray grout. The tiles and supplies were also purchased from Lowes. We weren’t exactly sure how we were going to do the counter top edge but my mom had the idea to use the grout and create a rough edge, we did and it worked out perfect and went with the concrete look.

We purchased the peel & stick backsplash from either Home Depot or Lowes cut it in half and used it for the backsplash.

The appliances were a little tricky because it was an old home. A standard fridge did not fit in our space so we went with a 30 in whirlpool fridge. The house also had an older drop in stove which wasn’t standard size either. So we purchased a new stove and have to purchase a mini dishwasher to fit in the space. Since there is just two of us this wasn’t an issue.

Before

Before
He had no idea how to hook anything up, lots of youtube help make our beautiful kitchen
After

My next favorite room was the living room. It was small, but so cozy and I moved it around often. There was wallpaper so we removed it, painted and put in new floor. Then I just spent way to much time decorating and re decorating.

Bar was from Craigslist, stained it to match the stairs.
And the shelf was from our previous apartment, I just spray painted it gray.
Then we got some new bar stools from my mom, which I also spray painted and used some new fabric for the seats. The shelves were a steal from the IKEA “as is” section for $20.
Then I spray painted the shelves and pretty sure moved this area around 3 or 4 more times.
See it’s moved again in this photo 🤣 I spray painted the end tables and our coffee table to match with everything else. We mounted the tv because we really didn’t have room for a tv stand.

Upstairs we had 2 rooms and a full bath. One room was used as an office. Just like downstairs we painted, put down floor and decorated.

Before
I don’t have an after. But this is close, I used 2 of those book shelves and added some decor.

We did the same in our bedroom as the other room, some paint and floor.

This area is where my vanity went
Since our bathroom was so small I was able to squeeze in a little vanity area in our room.

Unfortunately at some point when I switched phones I lost a lot of photos so I don’t have any after photos of our bathrooms. But we painted, our down floor and replaced the vanity in both. In our full bath I took off the shower door. It was gold and a paint to clean. Added some decor and we had a whole new space.

Last, but not least was our backyard. It wasn’t difficult but the previous owner left a lot of stuff back there so we just had to clean up and get some furniture.

WHY is patio furniture so expensive? This simple set was $199 from world market and is living its best life with my in-laws.

Okay that’s the super long version of purchasing and renovating (ish) our first home. We are in the process of doing it all over again, with a less help and way more knowledge. When we are done I’ll be doing another blog showing you our new house.

Our new home, doing it all over again.

If you enjoyed this post please like below and subscribe so you can stay updated on my new posts!

If you have any questions or want to share about your home buying process comment below.

xo

10 thoughts on “How We Completely Renovated Our First Home, then flipped it

  1. Amber Rose

    Your vanity is so cute. Dude you guys really turned that home around. It looked so good. So excited for you and your new home!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Marissa Pate

    Y’all did amazing on your first home renovation! Your second one is turning out amazing. I can’t wait to see the finished product! Go Ty & Kamil!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Sylvia Matthews

    Wow, this was so satisfying to read and see! The renovations came out amazinggggg! Y’all did a beautiful job! I can’t wait to see how your new home will turn out!

    Your dad is like my husband’s uncle lol he can do a little bit of everything when it comes to carpentry! Definitely comes in handy having someone like them around when doing renovations!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Kamil Piers Post author

      Thank you! Almost been here a year and still working on finishing our current house, but if everything goes as planned we will be done this summer. And yes, very handy having him & YouTube!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Millennial Marriage – Wifey Chat

  5. Pingback: 10 ways to Update your Home on a Budget – Wifey Chat

  6. Pingback: Millennial Marriage | Wifey Chat

  7. Pingback: 10 Ways To Easily Update Your Home This Weekend | Wifey Chat

Leave a comment